Roast Chicken for Fight Back Friday

by Girl Gone Domestic

I picked up a stack of cookbooks at the library last week.  So, when I was trying to decide how to cook up my weekly Free Range Chicken,  I found myself debating between Alice Waters’ recipe from her Chez Penisse Cafe Cookbook, and a very tasty looking recipe from Susie Theodoru’s book can i Freeze it?   Well, because dear (I adore the woman) Ms. Waters’  recipe required a little planning ahead, I went with the latter recipe.

This recipe calls for two chickens, I just did one large one.

The ingredients are:

4 garlic cloves

Sea salt & freshly ground pepper

Juice of one lemon, squeezed halves reserved

4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened

Two 3 pound organic chickens, washed and patted dry

4 large rosemary sprigs  (I didn’t have any, so I skipped this)

dscn2757

The house smelled fantastic and the family enjoyed it, to the point that there wasn’t much left.  That wasn’t the end of it…oh no!… that carcass is in a pot on my stove making a huge pot of  nourishing bone broth!

dscn2763

It will simmer all night and some time tomorrow I will strain it and put into the freezer for future recipes.  Now that is getting my money’s worth, and I think this is the perfect post for Food Renegade’s Fight Back Friday .

imarenegade_350