A Trip to the Sunny State, California – San Francisco edition

by Girl Gone Domestic

Wow! It is a wonder I even remember how to long into this blog.  It has been so terribly long since I have been here, but such is life.  What was priority at one time may not be at another, things change and that is absolutely OK.

My recent priority was a spring break trip to sunny California.  It was a mom only vacation and I enjoyed it with my dear friend.   It was the longest that I have been away from my kids and no one was worse off for my absence, thanks to my valiant husband who is incredibly capable, especially when armed with the freezer full of meals that I left for him.

As for the trip itself?  Well, I don’t think I can capture it into words, but if I tried, it would be words such as, relaxing, sunshine, laughter, beauty, wonder, rich, dreamy.

Today it is grey and overcast in the Pacific Northwest (surprise, surprise), so it has been consoling to look through my trip photos and remember how sunshine felt on my skin.  Now I’ll be kind enough to share them with you.

Image

My first morning in California did not disappoint.  The sun rose bright and warm.

Image

 I was told that you cannot visit Cali without visiting an In-N-Out.  Of course, being gluten free means ordering mine protein style.  It was my first meal in sunny San Francisco and was thoroughly enjoyed while sitting in the sunshine with the Golden Gate bridge off in the distance.

Image

Driving across the Golden Gate Bridge was nothing short of awe inspiring.  With its massive red structure and the crowds of people armed with cameras, I couldn’t help but feel exhilarated.

Image

Muir Beach, tucked away across the Golden Gate and through the Muir Woods, was a beautiful retreat away from the big city.

Image

Driving back to the city, windows down, the smell of eucalyptus filling the car.

Image

A gluten free breakfast in a little French cafe, La Boulange.

Image

The Ferry Building Farmer’s Market.

Image

A drive through the mission district.

Image

A sunny afternoon was spent lounging in the grass in Dolores Park.

Image

The ominous looking San Francisco City Hall.

 Image

  Lombard Street, the most crooked street.  After driving down it, you can’t help but get out and take a picture of what you have just maneuvered.

 Image

Most yards have lemon trees of which I am envious.

Image

More lounging in the sun on the grass at Fort Mason, where we spent our first night in the Fisherman’s Wharf hostel.

That’s all for today, stayed tuned for my Big Sur/Santa Cruz edition.

