With Gratitude

by Girl Gone Domestic

This blog is like a journal or scrapbook.

I take photos of things throughout my daily life and put them here.

It is a way to count my blessings.  When I look back over all these entries, I am reminded of how much I have to be grateful for.

It reminds me that the good things in my life far exceed the rough spots.

It also reminds me that the real and lasting joys in life are usually quite simplistic: my children’s eyes, a meal with someone dear, fresh produce from my garden, sunshine, watching my husband joke & laugh with our big boys.

Simple yet beautiful.

It’s easy to lose sight of this, and to think that we need more to be happy or different circumstances to be happy.  I have fallen into that trap time and time again.  And so, I am glad to be able to have this reminder.

And in this reminder comes a desire to always look for those things in the mundane that are actually quite marvelous, to be careful to not take for granted what’s right in front of me.

By choosing gratitude, we are making the choice to be happy.

So here are some things I am grateful for lately.

Kevin is shedding, apparently this is normal.

“The male Peacock loses it tail feathers here in the U.S. from mid June into August and Sept.”

A little fact that I found here.

These beautiful feathers are all over our yard, this one was on our doorstep.

I think they are absolutely amazing!

We recently got a bunch of these little babies.

The kids are enamored, even the big boys go soft over these fluffy little bits.

We had a whole week of nice weather…a whole week!!

This made an afternoon at the lake necessary.

I hope we are able to squeeze in a few more before Autumn is upon us.

This berry stand at my Farmer’s Market is a weekly stop.

The season started with strawberries and now we are into blueberries.

I like to get a mix.  She gives me a dollar off if I bring my box back, which I always do.

Market Bouquets, so colorful and so inexpensive.

It’s always good to have your Dad buy you a yummy breakfast right before you get a speeding ticket.

Because then instead of being completely unhappy over the speeding ticket, you can be grateful for free breakfast.  See how this works.

Maltby Cafe.

Evie with her faux laptop.

Kids these days.

