Taking Care 77/365

by Girl Gone Domestic

I’ve been working on things for several years now.

Physical things, mental and emotional things.  They are all connected.  I eat a certain way because it keeps me feeling good, not just physically, but mentally and emotionally as well.  I’m not perfect at it, but I know that when we take good care of our bodies, our mind and emotions are taken care of. There is a mind/body connection. If our body is not working right, the mind is sure to follow, in part because we feel the frustration of fatigue and sickness, and of not feeling our best.  And in part because they just really are connected. If your body is not in full working order or not getting the nutrients it needs, the brain can start to “short-circuit”.

I try hard to take care of my body, because in the past I’ve felt really bad, physically, mentally and emotionally.  And I am feeling a difference.

But it takes time to heal, and it takes rest.  So when our body tells us to slow down, we should listen.

Rest. I’m not just talking about sleeping at night.  But resting, in life.  Learning to say “no”.  Letting things that aren’t so important go.  Silencing the thoughts that can often plague our minds.  Saying “no” to the things that makes us weary.  When I have a bout of weariness, I just stop, and do nothing but the basics for survival.  It has been a hard thing to learn to do, especially since we live in a frenetic society that is accomplishment driven. It’s all about what you do.

But it is as important to learn how to just be. Sometimes doing nothing is the most important thing you can do.

When we are weary, doing nothing is actually doing everything.

 

 

Do you feel weary or fatigued more often than you used to?  Are you depressed or irritable?  Do you have a hard time coping with stress? Have you gained some extra weight?  Do you constantly reach for sugary foods and caffeine to get you through the day?  Do you suffer from PMS or low sex drive?  Read about your important Adrenal Glands and the hidden but very real epidemic of Adrenal Fatigue here.

