Cultured 41/365

by Girl Gone Domestic

On Saturday while shopping at the Co-op, I came across quarts of Jackie’s Jersey Raw Cream for 20% off….20% off!  I bought two with the intent of making yogurt cream. Creme Fraiche. French cream. Cultured cream. You feel me.

I placed 5 cups of raw cream into a saucepan and began to heat it watching the temperature ever so carefully.  According to raw foodies to maintain the “rawness” of the cream I didn’t want to heat it over 115º.  I heated mine to about 105º.

Then I cooled it to about 80º and added 1/8 of a teaspoon of this stuff:

GI Prostart Yogurt Starter

I bought this when my six-year-old son was completely dairy free.  I thought it would be good for him to have nut & coconut milk yogurt, because yogurt is so good for the gut.  Now he can have goat milk and I use this to make goat milk yogurt for him.  It also works well for Creme Fraiche.

Another way to make Creme Fraiche without yogurt starter, is to use 1 cup of store-bought plain organic yogurt in place of the yogurt starter.

Stir well and pour into jars and screw on the lids.

I culture my yogurt in my Excalibur dehydrator, which I love.  My friend cultures her yogurt in a cooler with a heating pad.  Some people use a cupboard with a 60 watt lightbulb on.  The trick is to keep the temperature between 100-110º.  You can leave it on top of the fridge but it will take a little longer (36 hours) to culture.  For the other methods, leave it for 24 hours, or longer for more tartness.  Then refrigerate for 8 hours.

 

Now you are ready to make this, or this, or this, or these, or any of these.  The choice is yours.  You feel me.

 

