Brewing 38/365

by Girl Gone Domestic

Kombucha.  Fermented tea.  Probiotic filled.  Delicious.

While I usually limit my kombucha brewing to warm summer months, and stick to kefir in the colder months, I found that my store-bought kombucha purchases this winter were adding up.  Time to get brewing and save myself some so money.

Making Kombucha at home is so incredibly easy and cheap.

Want all the store-bought flavors?  Equally easy and cheap.

These little green (recycled) bottles are filled with pomegranate juice and kombucha and are ready for a second ferment.

Kombucha

1 Kombucha scoby in about 1/2 cup kombucha, also known as a mother or mushroom and looks like this, you can see mine in the bottom of the large jar to the right of my bottles.

3 organic green or black tea bags, (in my last batch I used 2 green tea bags and one Mango Ceylon)

1 cup organic cane juice crystals, (the sugar will be consumed by the scoby, so if you can’t have sugar, don’t worry, its scoby food)

1 gallon filtered water, do not use tap water, the chlorine is not good for the scoby

Boil water with sugar, remove from heat and add tea bags.   I let my tea steep until it is room temperature, so it’s nice and strong.  Then pour into a large jar, pour the 1/2 cup kombucha and the scoby into the jar with the tea.  Cover with a dishcloth or cloth napkin and secure with a rubber band.  Place in a warm place for 10-14 days.  Boom! Homemade kombucha. Now you can remove the scoby and 1/2 cup of the kombucha for your next batch and bottle and refrigerate the rest or,

For a flavored kombucha, choose a juice flavor and add 1 part juice to 4 parts kombucha to bottles, secure lids and ferment for 2-7 days longer. Then refrigerate.

My favorite sites for brewing tips, tricks & supplies:

Cultures for Health, for all your fermenting and culturing needs

Kombucha Kamp, all things Kombucha

The reason the scoby is sometimes called a mother is because it will reproduce, it will grow more scobies.  You can either leave the new scoby where it grows (making a thicker mother) or separate it and pass it along to a friend.  I usually retire my mother after several brews and replace it with one of the “babies”.  I have 3 scobies in jars in my fridge, so if anyone close by is interested in getting your ferment on, I’d be glad to contribute to the cause.

