Sleepy Morning, Happy Breakfast 29/365

by Girl Gone Domestic

Sometimes I get a hankering for something besides meat, eggs and vegetables for breakfast.  It’s usually when I’m tired, I crave something sugary and carb rich, but unless I want to feel even worse, I don’t go there.  Instead I whip up an alternative that’s even better than the real deal.  These waffles are full of good fat and protein and are sugar, dairy, grain and gluten-free, making them way better for you than the real deal, with no sugar crash or premature hunger later on. They are also very filling, usually one is enough, but the leftovers are great reheated. I like to serve these with lots of cultured butter, some berries and an egg or a side of sausage or bacon.  I can’t remember where I got this recipe, but it is not my own, though I think I altered it by adding more oil so I didn’t have to oil my waffle iron with that nasty nonstick spray.

Almond Flour Waffles

makes about 4-4″ waffles

1 cup almond flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

4 eggs

1/4 cup xylitol

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup melted coconut oil

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl with a hand mixer or immersion blender.  Cook in waffle iron according to manufacturer’s instructions.


