Girl Goes Grain Free & Dairy Free

by Girl Gone Domestic

Fatigue.  Pain.  Insomnia.  Irritability.  Foggy brained. Weight gain. And a few more personal issues.  I’ve been experiencing all of these for the last two months (since my bout with the flu, some longer) and they were getting worse everyday.  So I decided it was time to get to the bottom of it all, you know, the root cause.  So I became a client of Sean of Underground Wellness, his motto is “Stop chasing symptoms and get to the root cause!”  First step was an anti fungal diet, no dairy for 2 weeks, no grains or sugar for 3 months.  We all have fungus in our bodies, but if our immune system is compromised it can be thrown out of balance, causing infection, but this out of control fungus has a root cause of its own which we will be testing for.

What is an anti fungal diet? Well, at first I thought, its not much- no grains, no dairy, no sugar, no alcohol or vinegar, (which rules out most condiments) only berries and green apples and green tipped bananas for fruit, no high starch veggies like potatoes, corn, or yams, basically nothing that feeds fungi, sounds pretty rough doesn’t it?  Especially for someone who loves to bake.  I had my second thoughts, but realized that those things did not mean as much to me as my health!  I had to stop thinking about what I couldn’t have and start focusing on what I could eat.  And once I really got into it and started using my creativity as someone who loves to cook, I found I could eat pretty well without all those things.   Its all about thinking outside the box when it comes to eating.  Tonight this was dinner, mind you, no grains, no dairy…

Grain-free Fried Shrimp

Cooked frozen shrimp (sustainable)

Egg, slightly beaten

Coconut flour

Coconut oil for frying

Thaw shrimp.  Dip shrimp in egg then in coconut flour.  Fry in coconut oil until browned.  Place on a broiler pan in a 350º oven while you make the dip.

Coconut Red Pepper Dip

1/8 red pepper, seeded

About 1 tablespoon chopped onion

1/4 can of coconut milk

a small amount of raw honey, not even a teaspoonful

I added about 12 raw almonds for extra protein.

Place all in food processor and blend until smooth. Salt to taste.

Add a salad and you’ve got a great meal without dairy or grains!

I admit, I’ve been eating like this for a week, and I feel so much better, the pain is gone, and my mind is clearer.  Now we are awaiting test results to see what step to take next.  Wish me well!

