The Easiest Creamiest Macaroni & Cheese

by Girl Gone Domestic

DSC_0033

This is by far one of the yummiest homemade macaroni & cheese recipes ever.  I got the recipe off of a pasta box, back when I used to eat regular pasta, but on my quest in healthier eating, I have adapted it.  Its super easy and quick, done in about 20 minutes, can’t beat that!  The last batch I made, I used some of my dear friend Becca’s homemade cheese, the results were amazing.

Extraordinary Macaroni & Cheese

makes 8 cups

1 pound elbow macaroni (I use Tinkyada brown rice pasta)

1/4 cup chopped onion (I omit the onion because my kids don’t care for it)

1/2 cup  butter (cow, goat or ghee)

4 tablespoons flour (you can use brown rice flour, whole wheat, or sprouted wheat flour)

2 teaspoon sea salt

6 cups  raw milk (cow or goat)

3 cups shredded raw milk cheddar cheese (cow or goat)

Melt butter over medium heat. Add onion and cook until transparent. Stir in flour and salt. Cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Add milk, stir to blend. Bring to low, steady simmer. Add uncooked noodles. Turn heat to low. Cover and continue to simmer gently for about 20 minutes, or until noodles are tender, stirring frequently to prevent scorching. Remove from heat.  Add cheese. Stir until cheese is melted. Let sit 5 minutes before serving.

This post has been a part of Cheeseslave’s Real Food Wednesday and Food Renegade’s Fight Back Friday.

