Homemade Teriyaki-like Chicken

by Girl Gone Domestic

DSC_0034

I love teriyaki, its such a perfect Friday night dinner.  But since I’ve become more aware of what’s in food and how what’s in my food affects my health, teriyaki from the local teriyaki joint gets harder and harder to eat without guilt, and regret (when I feel it later).  That stuff is loaded with high fructose corn syrup, soybean oil, GMOs, and where do those chickens come from, we all know the jokes, is it chicken?  This recipe is just the thing for a teriyaki craving mama, who’s health conscious too.  Though its not exactly teriyaki, it does the trick. I used my weekly whole Free Range Chicken for the recipe, but its really good with boneless skinless chicken breasts, for that true teriyaki taste.  By using the whole bird, I was also able to make my weekly pot of stock with the chicken back, so its economical too, unlike teriyaki joints.

Seasame Ginger Chicken

makes 6 or more servings

1/3 cup plum sauce or sweet & sour sauce (I used some sweet & sour plum sauce I had canned using plums my neighbor gave me, if you use store bought, pay close attention to what’s in it)

1/4 cup water

3 tablespoons hoisin sauce (again hoisin sauces often have HFCS in them, I found one without and it uses fermented soy, the only kind of soy that is actually OK to consume according to Nourishing Traditions)

1 1/2 teaspoon sesame seeds

1 clove garlic, minced

1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger or 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon Oriental chili sauce (I substituted red pepper flakes because I didn’t have any of this)

A whole chicken cut up into 8 pieces or 6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts or thighs (If you like you can parboil your chicken so it spends less time on the grill.)

 For sauce: In small saucepan combine all of the ingredients except chicken. Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring frequently; reduce heat. Cover and simmer for 3 minutes. Set aside. Grill chicken on lightly greased rack of an uncovered grill directly over medium coals for 20 minutes or until cooked through, turning once and brushing with sauce during last 5 minutes of grilling. In small saucepan heat remaining sauce until bubbly and serve with chicken. Serve with rice. (I soak my rice overnight before cooking, but that’s another post for another day).

 

This post has been a part of Food Renegade’s Fight Back Friday  and Kelly the Kitchen Kop’s Real Food Wednesday.

