The Princess & the Pizza

by Girl Gone Domestic

Evie was super cute yesterday sitting out on the porch in her sunhat.  She sucked on the strap for a while and then somehow got it straight again.

DSC_0133

DSC_0134

DSC_0142

DSC_0146

DSC_0147

DSC_0151

While in Idaho, my friend Becca gave me some of her Alaskan sourdough starter, which was much appreciated because of the neglectful death of my champange starter.  So my first sourdough love was bestowed on pizza dough.  I used Leslie Mackie‘s recipe out of her Macrina Bakery cookbook.  The fermentation time is probably not up to Sally Fallon’s standard, but for an occasional treat…sorry Sally.

DSC_0278

Alaskan Sourdough

DSC_0105

Ready.

DSC_0110

Making 8 pizzettas.

DSC_0114

Form into balls.  Let sit.

DSC_0195

Ready to be made into crusts.

DSC_0188

Pat out in rounds with fingers.

DSC_0197

Top with tomato sauce & herbs, fresh mozzarella, spinach, nitrate free italian sausage, and some parmesan shavings.

Get creative.

DSC_0206

Kids have fun making their own, minus spinach.

 

To avoid copyright infringement, I did not post the recipe.  I would recommend either purchasing Leslie’s book or checking it out from your library for the recipe.

