The Evelyn Event

by Girl Gone Domestic

Before I share my next story, I must make something clear, I have never been one to feel the need to share every detail of my birth with people, in fact I feel the opposite.  I feel that birth is something very intimate and personal, and so I prefer not to have a bunch of people present, standing around like spectators at a sporting event, that’s one reason I chose to give birth at home in the first place.  That’s just me, I do realize that every woman is different.  But Evelyn’s event was very exciting for Peter & I and so I offer a little glimpse, sparing those intimate, personal details.

January 15, 2009

6 days overdue

10:20 pm  First labor contraction

10:30 pm  Peter calls midwife to have her come

10:32 pm  Water breaks

10:48 pm Baby is here, the midwife is not

Yes, Peter & I delivered our own baby, the midwife arrived  5 to 10 minutes after she was born.  Evelyn was born a little blue and had some trouble taking her first breath, but with the midwife on speaker phone telling us what to do, we were able to get her to respond and “pink up” and she is doing perfectly now.  So that is my story…no, that is our story, Peter, Evelyn’s and mine.

dscn1373

