The Birthday Boy & the Greedy Gift Giver

by Girl Gone Domestic

Jonathan celebrated his 9th birthday on the 16th.  We had a quiet little celebration at home and then we let the boys watch Star Wars for the first time, which they thought was so cool.  I fell asleep about 10 minutes into it!   

dscn0006

dscn0007

Samuel had bought Jon a watch that Jon had been trying to save for, but he was having a hard time coming up with the money.  Its the sweet things like this that make me realize I can’t be doing too bad of a job at raising them, they really are dear boys!   

dscn0015

dscn0021

dscn0024

Hannah and Simon came into my room at one point with armfuls of their own toys that they wanted to wrap up and give to Jon. My mama’s heart was now bursting with pride at the selflessness of my little ones, I don’t think they get it from me, definitely from their father!  Luckily, I had some hotwheels and gum for them to wrap and give to him instead.

dscn0034

But then came Ben’s turn to give his gift.  Let’s just say that almost 2 year olds don’t really get the whole “It is more blessed to give than to receive” concept.

He handed Jon his wrapped gift, then quickly yanked it back and tried to hide it.  But when I insisted he give it to Jon, he did so backing away and with the ugliest of scowls.  See photo below.

dscn0026

Then as Jon began to open the package, he quickly rushed back and tried to take it again.  When told no, he hovered over it whimpering impatiently, while Jon finished opening it.

dscn0027

 When Jon finished, he thanked him and kissed him, but Ben’s eyes were on that car and he was going to have it!

dscn0030

After we tried to explain that it was a present for Jon, and he couldn’t have it, he ran off crying and hid.

dscn0031

Jon, being the tender heart that he is, offered Ben not just the one car but all three he had received, which Ben hastily (and greedily) grabbed and ran off with.  Well, I guess I’ve got a little work to do on that boy, but my older children have given me hope! :) 

