Winter Wonderland

by Girl Gone Domestic

Snow has come!  We got about 5″, give or take, in the night and it is cold.  The kids were up and begging to go out before breakfast.  As I  bundled the two youngest my thoughts were on that scene from the movie The Christmas Story, where the poor kid could hardly walk or even see by the time his mother was through dressing him for the winter weather.  I’m not that extreme.  But if the kids are warm, then they don’t come in every ten minutes complaining. Just a little something I’ve learned over my short bout with motherhood meets winter conditions.  So after getting everyone out the door, I sat in the quiet and enjoyed my coffee.  Then it was my turn to bundle up, I couldn’t pass up the chance to get out there and take some photos and restore my poor neglected blog to the dignity it once knew.  I do hope all you dear readers appreciate the risk I took to make this post happen, hypothermia, frost bite, the possibility of ending up on my back with broken body parts. So please grab a warm cup of something and enjoy!

dscn1246

The sled crew

dscn12521

This part of sledding is such a “drag”.  (pun intended)

dscn1253

The safest place for a child under 2 is in the back seat.

dscn1256

A real live snow angel

dscn1267

Is it just snow or frozen feathered friends?

dscn1257

Simon

dscn1268

Flying

dscn1259

Samuel

dscn1269

“Seriously Mom, does this hat & hood make my face look chubby?”

dscn1262

Jon

dscn1264

Got snow?

dscn1265

Winter jewels

dscn1270

Drive by smiling

dscn1271

So now that I have redeemed this blog, I have to say I don’t know when I will be able to post again.  I’m in the timeframe when I can go into labor anytime safely, baby is due in three weeks, my goal is to make it past Christmas, but I don’t have much of a say in when this little sometimes abusive acrobat will make his/her appearance.  In the meantime, I wish you all a beautiful Christmas, may you find the joy in choosing the best gift Christmas has to offer, Jesus Christ, God incarnate.   

