Everything in His Time

by Girl Gone Domestic

When I woke this morning it was cold!  I still had tomatoes on the vines in the garden so I was worried it had frozen and they would be lost, but no frost on the ground, only very cold air.  I determined to gather all the unripe tomatoes today to ripen indoors, not as good as vine ripened, but unfortunately in my gardening zone (Pacific Northwest), indoor ripening is a must toward the end of the season.  I laid the little ones down for naps and made sure the older boys had something quiet to do, and I headed outside to save my bumper crop of tomatoes.  As I worked, my mind wandered, it was so peaceful and the sun was shining.   I thought of how I loved to garden, and then I thought of the first garden that God Himself created, what joy He must have taken in forming something so beautiful.  I love the fact that when I garden, I am working hand in hand with the Creator of the universe, and together we create something beautiful, it is really very humbling that He gives us that opportunity.  As I continued to work and think, it started to sprinkle, “baby rain” as my Dad calls it.  I didn’t even mind, I was working with God, and as I worked, He worked in me, I thought of how He trains us, like tomatoes, growing us and sometimes pinching back the unwanted shoots to produce only quality fruits.  Do I have any unwanted shoots in my life?   Am I willing to let God produce only quality fruits in my life, no matter how the pinching may hurt?  I understood how the Master Gardener worked, and I was thankful and full of appreciation.  It is the close of gardening season, and time to look forward to the cozy winter months.  Its all part of His plan.  

“For everything there is a season, and a time for every purpose under heaven:               

  

A time to be born, And a time to die; A time to plant, And a time to pluck up that

which is planted;

A time to kill, And a time to heal; A time to break down, And a time to build up; 

A time to weep, And a time to laugh; A time to mourn, And a time to dance; 

A time to cast away stones, And a time to gather stones together; A time to

embrace, And a time to refrain from embracing;

A time to seek, And a time to lose; A time to keep, And a time to cast away;

A time to tear, And a time to sew; A time to keep silence, And a time to speak; 

A time to love, And a time to hate; A time for war, And a time for peace.

He has made everything beautiful in its time.

Also that every man should eat and drink, and enjoy good in all his labor,

is the gift of God.” 

These are honey filled muffins, a variation of the recipe below.

Blueberry Streusel Muffins

These muffins may be made with or without streusel topping.

makes 12 muffins

Streusel Topping (below)

1 cup milk

1/4 cup oil (I use coconut oil)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 egg

2 cups flour

1/3 cup sugar

3 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup blueberries

Heat oven to 400º.  Grease or line 12 muffin cups.  Prepare streusel; set aside. 

Beat milk, oil, vanilla and egg.  Stir in rest of ingredients (except blueberries)

all at once just until moistened (batter will be lumpy). 

Fold in blueberries.  Divide batter evenly among muffin cups. 

Sprinkle each with 2 teaspoons of streusel. 

Bake 20-25 minutes.

Streusel Topping:  Cut 2 tablespoons butter into 1/4 cup flour,

2 tablespoons brown sugar,  1/4 teaspoon cinnamon until crumbly.

Variations:

Apple-Cinnamon Streusel Muffins:  Stir in 1 cup shredded apple in place of

blueberries with the milk.  Add 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon with flour. 

Bake 25-30 minutes.

Cranberry-Orange Streusel Muffins:  Stir 1 tablespoon orange peel with milk. 

Fold in 1 cup cranberry halves in place of blueberries.

Sweet Surprise Muffins: (shown above)  Place 1 tablespoon of batter

in each muffin tin,  then add 1 teaspoon of jam or honey and

top with remaining batter until about 2/3 full. 

 

 

*Note:  Verses taken From Ecclesiastes chapter 3, King James Version, and are not

in order or in their entirety

