Autumn’s Bounty & Gingerbread Hotcakes

by Girl Gone Domestic

Peter brought home some apples & pears (which were ironically bagged up in Walmart bags) grown by a guy at work, so the kids and I spent the evening making applesauce.  We peeled, cored, sliced and diced, then we tossed them in a pot with a little water, brown sugar (to make it caramelly, and to take the tart down a notch, some of the apples were still a little green) and a touch of cinnamon.  We cooked it down, blended it and came out with a half gallon jar of tangy, sweet applesauce.  Well, what better to go with applesauce than Gingerbread Hotcakes, so very autumn.  

 

Gingerbread Hotcakes

makes 8 pancakes

1 cup + 2 tablespoon flour

1/3 cup yellow cornmeal

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon ginger

1/2 teaspoon each: nutmeg, cloves, and cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

3/4 cup sour cream

3/4 cup milk

1/4 cup oil

1 1/2 tablespoons molasses

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Mix dry ingredients in large bowl.  In separate bowl beat eggs.  Then whisk in sour cream, milk, molasses and vanilla.  Make well in the dry  ingredients and add liquid, whisking the batter just until smooth.  Set aside for 5 minutes.  Cook on heated griddle.  

Top with organic butter, pure maple syrup, and freshly made applesauce, and don’t forget a pot of tea!

 

God has been blessing us with an abundance of tomatoes from our garden, I’ve been giving them away, eating them chopped on nearly everything, or just eating them, and still the end is not in sight.  Today I will look online for a salsa recipe I can freeze, I’ve seen one before, I think I’ll give it a try.  I had thought about tomato sauce, but as far as I know it involves blanching, too time consuming, since most of the tomatoes are little plum tomatoes, but I’ll check into it also.

 

I made these bibs for Benny and I am so happy with how they turned out and how easy they were to make.  I bought a five pack of assorted, boyish looking dishtowels, cut them in half & hemmed them to make ten, sewed a little crumb catcher in the bottom of each, cut a neck hole and added stretch ribbing, it took all of 2 hours and cost about a buck a bib!


