This Week’s Highlights & Favorites

by Girl Gone Domestic

Quote of my week:

“If we sincerely want harmony, peace and joy in our lives, we can have them, but we must be willing to do the work.  We must make maintaining an awareness of our spiritual natures first in our lives.  Our inner world is the architect of our external world.  We don’t lose faith in the goodness of God because we become angry and depressed.  We become angry and depressed because we lose faith in the goodness of God.”  

Taken from the book Simple Pleasures: Soothing Suggestions & Small Comforts for Living Well Year Round.

Read of my Week:

The Secret of Happy Children: Why Children Behave the Way They Do-and What You Can Do to Help Them to Be Optimistic, Loving, Capable and Happy

I recommend this book for all parents and those who plan to become parents.  It is a great reminder of the power our words can have on our children, now and into their adulthood, even things we think may be harmless, such as telling a child they are sloppy or lazy, or reminding them of their mistakes ect.  We must focus on our child’s strengths and gently help them in the areas they need to improve.  Children are always questioning and wondering, if they are wondering who they are, will they be reminded of how mom or dad called them selfish or lazy?  It is not a book condoning passive parenting, but assertive parenting.  Parents in charge and in control of their words and emotions will produce secure children.  

Parenting purchase of my week:

I finally found the glass baby bottles at Target, they were hidden on the bottom shelf, behind a pillar.  I bought a 3 pack for $5.49.  I would highly recommend glass baby bottles, they are BPA & phthalate free. They are also virtually unbreakable. The Playtex Nursers with Drop ins I was using were also BPA & phthalate free, but I had to buy the refills and was filling the garbage with the used ones.  The glass bottles are just better all around.

Recipe of my week:

I got my sourdough starter revived after a long vacation from caring for it, I made some sourdough bread, which turned out great, but the recipe that really made me appreciate the trouble of caring for my starter was this fabulous sourdough waffle recipe.  Top these babies with some real butter and pure maple syrup, and oh, the tangy sweetness is incredible!

Project of my week:

I finished my healthy shower curtain for my master bath, no grommets involved.  Button holes work just as well.  I now have healthy shower curtains in both my bathrooms for about $15.  I found a fabric shower curtain liner at Marshalls for $6.99 (thanks Maria for filling me in before I spent the big bucks), and I picked up some fabric on clearance for the master bath for the same price.  It took me about 20 minutes to make. 

Treat of my week:

I don’t know what it is, but I have never been a chocolate lover, that is except when I am pregnant, its beyond me, maybe its the baby that’s the chocolate lover.  Anyway, I must have chocolate and nothing will satisfy like this stuff , that is except for this stuff, or maybe this stuff!  You get the picture. I try to limit myself to one bar per week, or I might experience a record weight gain during this pregnancy!

