10 on the 10th & Last Night’s Culinary Attempt

by Girl Gone Domestic

 

The Birthday Boy

The Birthday Boy

 

 

Today is a big day for my hubby & I, our oldest child is entering the double digit age range.  Its so exciting for him and so aging for me.  Here is an exclusive interview with the man himself, only found here at Girl Gone Domestic, so read on…

Me:  So, Samuel, you’re entering you’re 11th year of life, what are your goals for this coming year?

Sam:  Get 500 bucks.

Me:  How do you expect to get 500 bucks?  Earn it?

Sam:  Shrugs.  I don’t think I’ll be able to earn that much in a year.

Me: Donations?

Sam:  Pssh. Smiles.

Me:  What will you do with it?

Sam:  Keep it up.

Me:  Keep it up where?

Sam:  Keep making more money.

Me:  What happens when you make all this money?

Sam:  Buy a house, car & books.  Smirks.

Me:  What was your best memory of last year?

Sam:  When I got dunked in a pool.

Me:  That was your best memory?

Sam:  Ohhh, ummm, going to the movie theatre.  (OK, so we don’t go to the movie theatre that often)

Me:  Have any bad habits you’d like to break this year?

Sam:  Sitting across from me picking his nose.  Pssh. He laughs and smirks. Picking my nose.

Me:  Any new foods you’ll try this year?

Sam:  Crab.

Me:  New places you’d like to go?

Sam:  Florida.

Me:  Why Florida?

Sam:  Crocodiles.

Me:  Are you gonna learn something new this year?  Or do you know everything already?

Sam:  Pssh! No!

Me:  What are you choosing for your birthday dinner tonight?

Sam:  Claim Jumpers.

Me:  Why?

Sam:  ‘Cause their food is good.

Me:  What are you gonna eat there?

Sam:  I don’t know, I don’t remember what they have.

Me:  Then how do you know their food is good?

Sam:  ‘Cause I remember that.

Me:  What do you want for your birthday?

Sam:  Books.

Me:  Any in particular?

Sam:  The Hardy Boys

Me:  Are you having a good day so far?

Sam:  So far, unlike last year, when I broke Grandpa’s camera.  (Apparently he was traumatized.)

Me:  What is the funniest thing you’ve ever seen?

Sam:  I don’t know.  Ummm, let’s see… the previews for Kung Fu Panda.

Me:  What is one thing that would make the world a better place?

Sam:  No pesticides.

And that is it.  Straight from the mouth of my 10 year old.

 

Last night I attempted to make my own spaghetti noodles. The only reason I can explain for this waste of time, is the waste of money I spent on the pasta attachment for my Kitchen Aid.  I have only used it once or twice, to make butternut squash raviolis and some funky looking egg noodles for chicken soup.  So, this week instead of spending the $3.00 for organic spaghetti noodles, already formed and packaged, I made an attempt to redeem my attachment purchase.  The noodles turned out like a cross between something out of a Top Ramen package and something pushed through a play dough press, slightly gluey, but noodley nonetheless.   Luckily, I had made a fabulous bolognese sauce to cover and hide them, though two of my kids eat no sauce.  Long story short, they actually liked them, the hubby thought I had just overcooked the packaged ones, but he looked impressed when he found out they were actually homemade.  My then 9 year old (see above) made a comment that he could usually eat more spaghetti,   “…but those noodles, …they’re good, but…”.   OK, maybe they need a little practice, but I think I might attempt them again sometime, why, I am not quite sure, let’s call it buyer’s guilt.

